top of page
  • Nico A.

"A Novel Arrangement" by Arden Powell


First in the agenda: I would like to thank the author, Arden Powell, for providing me an ARC in exchange for an honest review.


I ended up giving "A Novel Arrangement" a 4.5★ rating.


Reminder: I read this book as and Advanced Reader Copy and, as such, some things may differ from the final published work.

 

“A Novel Arrangement” is an amazingly cosy read. I’m sure that, had I waited to read it at the beginning of summer - maybe sitting on a garden bench -, I would have enjoyed it even more.


The book, set in the 1920s, tells the story of Elizabeth Turtledove; business owner, seamstress, passionate young woman, who writes salacious romances on the side. Beth is happily in love, and ready to marry the love of her life, Arthur Leicester, the gentleman she has been dating for the past couple years.


Arthur is kind, hardworking, and lets Elizabeth keep all her freedom. Never even thinks about stopping her from pursuing her more unsavoury dreams, as long as she’s as happy as possible.


But her husband comes with a plus one: Jules Coxley, renowned artist, Arthur’s childhood best friend (and housemate), an all around menace. He’s the black sheep of London’s high society, and also completely in love with Arthur.


As Beth and Arthur decide to get married, enthusiastically and intensely ready to be The One for each other, Jules has one last chance to ruin their relationship. Oh, there’s also blackmail involved, completely unrelated.


In all honesty, it took me some time to get into the story. The beginning is slow, and I felt like it was much to dragged out. As much as I appreciated Jules fumbling, being a complete idiot and doing his best to ruin his best friends’ happiness (yes, this is how well thought-out his plans and attempts feel), I do wish it could have been a bit shorter.


I absolutely adored the rest of it.


I loved Elizabeth as a main character. She’s a beast of a woman (meant as a compliment), but still a product of her time. She’s independent, strong-willed, and a little bossy. She’s pretty, and well-spoken, and has been brought up in the midst of high society. She’s a lady. She can’t tell the world she’s the infamous writer everyone is salivating after, and that can give other people the upper-hand over her.


SPOILER AHEAD!

She’s also incredibly dominant, which was a dynamic I particularly appreciated, and has both guys eating from the palm of her hand.


That was another thing. I really enjoyed how - although Arthur and Coxley have known each other for over two decades, and supposedly have the deeper connection amongst all three of them - she’s not only the catalyser, she’s the reason. She makes Jules fall in love with her, she’s the one who always takes the step forward when her men are to afraid to do so. Even if she’s as anxious, as scared, as terrified as them.

END OF SPOILER


Arden Powell is amazing at writing blooming relationships, developing them at a pace that is both believable and absurdly enjoyable.


Coxley’s growth throughout the story was unmistakable. More than the romance, I am particularly fond of his and Beth’s friendship. It looked so hopeless in the beginning, but I couldn’t hope but root for them.


The background characters are also a fulcral part of the narrative, and such a delight. Every single one of them has a distinct and multi-dimensional personality. All I can say is: beard-weddings, and finding happiness and love, even when society would prefer you didn’t. Strong personalities, unwavering friendships, and people that always ready to fight (physically, if needed be) for Elizabeth.


The blackmail part was also incredibly well planned. It was mysterious and funny, Elizabeth’s reaction to the incompetence of her blackmailer never failed to make me laugh. The reasoning was congruent, it felt like the blackmailer’s ire and spite were well-placed, at least from their perspective. And their description? There’s a passage where Arden Powell writes (and I paraphrase) “(they) looked like a bulldog, without any of the typical kind-disposition of the breed” and it was at that moment I knew I adored this book.


I came for Coxley being a sarcastic little imp, and stayed for the amazing and well-placed humour.


“A Novel Arrangement” is a light read, but it still does an excellent job at tackling every issue it touches on, always with the proper intensity and respect. The resolution - both of them, actually - were so incredibly satisfactory. It couldn’t have turned out better, honestly.


I give it a very solid 4.5 stars, only as a consequence of the slow initial pace. I'd say that's purely a personal preference, if you like slice of life you'll thoroughly enjoy it.


I thoroughly enjoyed it, every single page, and would recommend it to anyone who likes: regency era fiction (even though this book is set a century too late, it has a very similar feel), bossy but caring women, a spiteful short-king who is actually a secret romantic, friends and partners who actually support each other, a gossipy light-read to take with you on a picnic. Or to the beach. Or just to relax with.


Once again, I have to give my thanks to Arden Powell for the ARC, and for the opportunity to read this beautiful book. I'll keep an eye out for their next releases.


7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page